Teaching: A Humble Vocation

For me, teaching is a calling, a humble vocation.  When I meet with student teachers, I tell them that academic success is not enough. I remind them of the words of Mother Cabrini.  Exemplary teaching is a marriage of the head and the heart. Teaching children to count is not as important as teaching what counts. “I do not teach with my mouth alone.  I do my best teaching when my heart is open.” (Esther Wright)

Submitted by:  Linda Noll/Student Teaching Supervisor

This entry was posted in Community Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

