The Missionary Sisters of the Sacred Heart of Jesus (MSC) Provinces and Regions

The Missionary Sisters of the Sacred Heart of Jesus (MSC) is an international congregation  present on six continents and in sixteen countries.  The congregation is divided into four provinces and two regions.  According to canon law, the number of sisters living in a particular geographic location determines whether that entity is a province or a region.  Sisters in the United States, Swaziland, Australia, and the Philippines make up the Stella Maris Province.  The three other MSC Provinces are: Brazil, Italy, and Western Europe.  The Italian Province includes two missions far from Europe, one in Wolayta Soddo, Ethiopia and the other in  Altaiski–Krai, Russia.  The two regions of the MSC congregation are the Argentine region, which includes missions in Argentina and Paraguay, and the Central America region which includes missions in Guatemala and Nicaragua.     The Stella Maris Province  held its Provincial Assembly on October 24, 25, and 26, 2011.  The Provincial Assembly is held annually, usually in the fall.   Missionary Sisters and their lay collaborators travel from all points of the Stella Maris Province to meet, pray, strategize and renew their committment to be carry on the legacy of St. Frances Cabrini and to be bearers of the love of Christ in the world.   

Submitted by: A. Schwelm, Assistant Library Director

This entry was posted in Together on the Journey: News from the Missionary Sisters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s